Criminal Investigation Division

Detective Division
The Detective Division consists of six separate units, working together for the common good of the community. Each unit is designed to handle investigations for specific types of crime. The Crimes Against Persons Unit investigates "persons" crimes such as assaults, rape and homicides. The Crimes Against Properties Unit investigates crimes against "property" such as burglaries, thefts, and arson. The Special Investigation Unit includes the Cyber Investigation Unit that conducts investigations concerning online criminal activity and the Special Investigation Unit also includes the Juvenile and Family Violence Unit that investigates domestic violence and child abuse as well as runaways, and an investigator that works sex offender registration. The Identification Unit is responsible for processing evidence as well as fingerprint detection and analysis. The Narcotic Unit is responsible for investigating the possession, sale or manufacture of illicit controlled substances. The Street Crimes Unit investigates "vice" type crimes and addresses various quality of life issues such as graffiti as they arise within the city of Fort Smith.


Organizational Chart
Criminal Investigation Division  Click here to view the Criminal Investigation Division organizational chart.


Emailing the Fort Smith Police Department
To leave a tip or other information, please click on the appropriate email address.

For homicides, robberies, burglaries, theft, fraud, etc., please click on criminalinvestigations@fortsmithpd.org.

To give information regarding illegal narcotics, please click on narcotics@fortsmithpd.org.

To provide information on gang activity, graffiti, prostitution, etc., please click on streetcrimes@fortsmithpd.org.

To contact a detective assigned to your case directly, please click on his or her name in the list below:

Major Mark Hallum

hallum@fortsmithpd.org

Capt. Jarrard Copeland

jcopeland@fortsmithpd.org

Capt. Jamie Hammond

jhammond@fortsmithpd.org

Sgt. Anthony Bowers

bowers@fortsmithpd.org

Sgt. Poncho Davis

jdavis@fortsmithpd.org

Sgt. Chad Sutton

sutton@fortsmithpd.org

Det. Joe Armer jarmer@fortsmithpd.org
Det. Jeff Carter jcarter@fortsmithpd.org
Det. Adam Creek acreek@fortsmithpd.org
Det. Kris Deason deason@fortsmithpd.org
Det. Edgar Mahan edgar.mahan@fortsmithpd.org
Det. Chris McCoy cmccoy@fortsmithpd.org
Det. Mike McCoy mmccoy@fortsmithpd.org
Det. Brandon McKinney bmckinney@fortsmithpd.org
Det. James Melson jmelson@fortsmithpd.org
Det. Larry Phillips lphillips@fortsmithpd.org
Det. Anthony Rice anthony.rice@fortsmithpd.org
Det. Ron Scamardo scamardo@fortsmithpd.org
Det. Jason Scarborough jason.scarborough@fortsmithpd.org
Det. Buddy Snell snell@fortsmithpd.org
Det. Kyle Story kyle.story@fortsmithpd.org
Det. Patty Sullivan psullivan@fortsmithpd.org
Det. Jeff Taylor jtaylor@fortsmithpd.org
Det. Mike Warren warren@fortsmithpd.org
Det. Barbara Williams bwilliams@fortsmithpd.org
Det. David Williams david.williams@fortsmithpd.org
Det. Troy Williams troy.williams@fortsmithpd.org



Division BIOs


Mark Hallum Criminal Investigation Division Commander
Name: Mark Hallum
Position: Major
Division: Criminal Investigation Division
Email: Hallum@FortSmithPD.org
   
Description
Major Mark Hallum serves the Fort Smith Police Department as the Commander of the Criminal Investigations Division. His staff includes 8 supervisors, 32 investigators and 2 civilian employees. Major Hallum is a 19 year veteran of the police department. He has been a patrol officer and a detective, as well as being a supervisor in the Criminal Investigations Division, the Patrol Division, and the Administrative Services Division. Major Hallum has a Bachelor's Degree from Northeastern State University and was named Officer of the Year in 1994.




Jarrard Copeland Criminal Investigation Division Assistant Commander
Name: Jarrard Copeland
Position: Captain / Assistant Commander
Division: Criminal Investigation Division
Phone: (479) 709-5009
Email: JCopeland@FortSmithPD.org
   
Description
Captain Jarrard Copeland serves the Fort Smith Police Department as the Assistant Commander of the Criminal Investigation Division. Captain Copeland is in charge of Crimes Against Persons Unit, Crimes Against Property Unit, Special Investigation Unit, and Identification Unit. His staff includes four supervisors, nineteen investigators, and one civilian employee. Captain Copeland is a nineteen year veteran of the Fort Smith Police Department. He has served in the patrol division, Crime Suppression Unit, criminal investigation division, as a Public Information Officer and received the Life Saving Award in 1993.
Jamie Hammond Criminal Investigation Division Assistant Commander
Name: Jamie Hammond
Position: Captain
Division: Criminal Investigation Division
Phone: (479) 709-5119
Email: JHammond@FortSmithPD.org
   
Description
Captain Jamie Hammond serves the Fort Smith Police Department as the Assistant Commander of the Criminal Investigation Division, in charge of the Narcotics Unit and the Street Crimes Unit. His staff includes two supervisors, eleven investigators, and two civilian employees. Captain Hammond is a twenty-year veteran of the Fort Smith Police Department and a graduate of the FBI National Academy. He has served in the patrol division, Crime Suppression Unit, and detective division.
James 'Poncho' Davis Crimes Against Persons Supervisor
Name: James 'Poncho' Davis
Position: Sergeant
Division: Criminal Investigation Division Crimes Against Persons Unit
Phone: (479) 709-5120
Email: JDavis@FortSmithPD.org
   
Description
Sergeant Davis serves the Fort Smith Police Department as the supervisor of the Criminal Investigation Division Crimes Against Persons Unit. This unit investigates homicides, robberies, rape, domestic violence and assaults & batteries. There are currently 5 detectives assigned to the personís crimes unit. Sergeant Davis is a 29 year veteran of the Fort Smith Police Department. Sergeant Davis spent 4 years in the patrol division until working as a detective in the criminal investigation division and then being promoted to the supervisor of the crimes against persons unit.
Chad Sutton Crimes Against Property Supervisor
Name: Chad Sutton
Position: Sergeant
Division: Criminal Investigation Division Crimes Against Property Unit
Phone: (479) 709-5121
Email: Sutton@FortSmithPD.org
   
Description
Sergeant Sutton serves the Fort Smith Police Department as the supervisor of the Criminal Investigation Division Crimes Against Property Unit. This unit investigates burglaries, theft of property, criminal mischief, vehicle thefts, and white collar crimes such as forgery, fraud and theft by deception. There are currently nine detectives assigned to the property crimes unit.

Sergeant Sutton is a thirteen year veteran of the Fort Smith Police Department. Sergeant Sutton spent three years in the patrol division until working as a detective in the criminal investigation division and then being promoted to the supervisor of the crimes against property unit.
Anthony W. Bowers Computer Forensics Unit Supervisor
Name: Anthony W. Bowers, EnCE
Position: Supervisor, Certified Computer Forensics Analyst
Division: Criminal Investigations
Phone: (479) 709-5129
Email - Direct: Bowers@FortSmithPD.org
             Unit: CyberCops@FortSmithPD.org
   
Description
Sergeant Anthony "Tony" Bowers has served the people of Ft. Smith at the Ft. Smith Police Department since June, 1989. He served for over seven years in the Patrol Division as a patrolman and has served on the SWAT Team, Honor Guard, and Crime Suppression Unit. In January, 2000 Sergeant Bowers was transferred to the Criminal Investigation Division where he specialized in investigating forgeries and other white collar crimes. In April, 2002 Sergeant Bowers was promoted to sergeant and shortly thereafter served as a detective supervisor. Sergeant Bowers was instrumental in developing the Ft. Smith Police Departmentís current forgery reporting system. Sergeant Bowers has also served in the Office of Professional Standards and as Administrative Assistant to the Office of Chief of Police. He is currently assigned to the Criminal Investigation Division as supervisor of the Computer Forensics Unit.
Scroll back to top of page